CA Sec. of State Bans E-Voting in 4 Counties

by Sabrina I. Pacifici on May 1, 2004

From the press release issued April 30 on the decertification of Diebold e-voting technology:

  • “California Secretary of State Kevin Shelley today banned the use of touchscreen voting systems in four counties and decertified all touchscreen systems in California until security measures are in place to safeguard the November vote…In the remaining 10 counties using touchscreen systems, Shelley said he would require the counties to either install a voter-verified paper trail before November, or to meet 23 security measures before he would recertify those systems.”
  • Decertification of AccuVote-TSx Voting System
  • Decertification and Conditional Certification for certain DREs (Direct Recording Electronic voting systems)
  • Key Documents On Electronic Voting Systems in California
  • Posted in E-Government

    Previous post:

    Next post: